Call for Papers – Deadline 1 March 2012

The Popular Culture Association of Australia and New Zealand (Popcaanz) is devoted to the scholarly understanding of everyday cultures. It is concerned with the study of the social practices and the cultural meanings that are produced and are circulated through the processes and practices of everyday life.

We invite academics, professionals, cultural practitioners and those with a scholarly interest in popular culture to send a 150-word abstract (with bio and email address) to the areas listed below:

Animation: animation@popcaanz.com
Anime and Manga: anime@popcaanz.com
Architecture: architecture@popcaanz.com
Biography and Life Writing: biography@popcaanz.com
Business: business@popcaanz.com
Creative Writing: writing@popcaanz.com
Cyber Culture: cyber@popcaanz.com
Design: design@popcaanz.com
Fashion: fashion@popcaanz.com
Fiction: fiction@popcaanz.com
Film: film@popcaanz.com
Food Studies: food@popcaanz.com
Gender and Queer: gender@popcaanz.com
Girlhood Studies: girlhood@popcaanz.com
Graphic Novels and Comics: comics@popcaanz.com
History: history@popcaanz.com
Music: music@popcaanz.com
Radio and Audio Media: radio@popcaanz.com
Religion: religion@popcaanz.com
Science: science@popcaanz.com
Sound, Voices and the Everyday: voices@popcaanz.com
Sports: sports@popcaanz.com
Television: tv@popcaanz.com
Toys and Games: toys@popcaanz.com
Visual Arts: visualarts@popcaanz.com

If you have a paper outside the above areas or an idea for panel, please forward to: coordinator@popcaanz.com

Registration Information: Please visit http://popcaanz.com/conference-registration

Registration for Australia includes:

  • conference launch/cocktail party
  • conference morning and afternoon teas and lunches
  • membership for one year
  • journal for one year (3 issues)

Hotel: The Langham Hotel, Melbourne

For more information on POPCAANZ, please visit http://popcaanz.com/