Black Performing Arts Area

Primary tabs

Call for papers: 

Black Performing Arts:  Sound, Movement, Image, Text


Popular Culture Association 2019 National Conference  April 17-20, 2019

Washington Marriott Wardman Park

2660 Woodley Road NW

Washington, D.C.



Call For Proposals:  Sessions, Panels, Papers

DEADLINE:  October 1, 2018


The Black Performing Arts Area provides a scholarly forum to share research pertaining to the black performing and visual arts.  Broadly defined, our area focuses on all forms of performing and visual arts, including jazz, blues, gospel, hip hop, rhythm and blues, Caribbean music, dance, poetry, drawing, painting, sculpture, ceramics, photography, and acting.


The panels on Black Performing Arts: Sound, Movement, Image, Text will showcase interdisciplinary discussions of cultural identity, art, religion, ritual, power, image,  representation, and the social processes and systems that influence and inform the innovation, production, regulation, and consumption of black performing arts.  Additionally, we invite research that examines the role of black music within society, how black performing and visual arts relate to race, class, gender, and sexuality, and the relationship between black performing arts and their broad political and economic context.

While our area is open to topic suggestions, theoretical approaches, and historical contexts, we are particularly interested at this time in work engaging any of the following contemporary themes and topics:

  • Ryan Coogler’s Black Panther (as setting for black actors, as representative of black cinematic style, as related to black musical aesthetics)
  • Janelle Monae’s intersectional aesthetics in popular music
  • Childish Gambino’s “This is America” (as song, as visual performance)
  • as black aesthetic intervention on television
  • Kendrick Lamar (especially as the first hip-hop artist to win the Pulitzer in music)
  • the return stand-up comedy specials of Dave Chappelle and Chris Rock
  • the rise of Tiffany Haddish as film and television star
  • Robert Glasper, Christian Scott Atunde Adjuah, and Kamasi Washington’s genre-expanding approach to jazz performance
  • Kara Walker’s The Katastwof Karavan as visual art and as musical performance


To submit your panel or presentation;

  1. Before creating an account, follow this link for detailed step-by-step instructions on how to submit a paper presentation, or panel/round table discussion.  https://pcaaca.org/help/conference/submitting-proposals-conference
  2. Be sure to check out the conference hotel information and reserve a room!

Inquiries may be directed to the Area Co-Chairs:


Michael Borshuk

Associate Professor, Texas Tech University



Jonafa Banbury

Independent Scholar


Area chairs