Literary, Film & Electronic Awards

Popular Culture Association Awards

Popular Culture Association Awards

The Popular Culture Association sponsors literary, documentary film, and electronic reference site awards each year.  

Award winners will be announced  during the annual convention in Philadelphia, PA from April 15-18, 2020. 

Recipients do not need to be present at the conference to receive an award. 

Nomination Deadlines and Submissions:

Books published in 2019 are eligible for this year’s awards. To be considered, nominated materials must be postmarked before or on the following dates:  

  • December 2, 2019 for consideration of materials published before November 15th.
  • January 10, 2020 for consideration of materials published on or after November 15th. 

Documentary films and electronic research sites produced within the last three years are eligible for this year’s awards. The deadline for these materials is December 1, 2019. 


Nominated books, films and electronic research sites should be sent to the members of the committees listed below. For mailing addresses, contact Brenda Boudreau, Vice President of Awards (bboudreau@mckendree.edu​). If you have questions about the appropriateness of your books, consult with the chairs of the individual committees.


Award Committees:

Ray and Pat Browne Awards:

These three awards are named after the founders, architects, and builders of the PCA/ACA. Ray Browne was instrumental in building the associations as well as the academic study of popular culture from its early beginnings to its current place as a major focus of intellectual study. He and his wife Pat Browne established The Popular Press, which published many of the first works in the field. He also founded the Journal of Popular Culture and the Journal of American Culture. Among the categories for the Ray and Pat Browne Awards are:


Best Single work by One or More Authors in Popular and American Culture

Committee Chair:   Lynnea Chapman King
Email for info: lynneaking@adams.edu


Best Edited Collection in Popular and American Culture

Committee Chair: Garyn G. Roberts


Best Reference/ Primary Source Work in Popular and American Culture

Books may be submitted that have been published within the past three years.
Committee Chair:   Heather Williams

John G. Cawelti Award for the Best Textbook/Primer

This award is given for noteworthy textbooks, primers, and scholarly books on Popular Culture and American Culture used in the classroom.

Committee Chair:  Kraig Larkin



Susan Koppelman Award for the Best Anthology, Multi-Authored, or Edited book in Feminist Studies in Popular and American Culture

Susan Koppelman is a feminist literary historian and the editor of groundbreaking critical collections of American women’s short stories.

Committee Chair:    Susan Koppelman


Emily Toth Award for Best Single Work in Women’s Studies

Emily Toth is a pioneer in both Women’s Studies and in Popular Culture.
Committee Chair:   Traci Roberts-Camps



John Leo and Dana Heller Award for Best Single Work, Anthology, Multi-Authored, or Edited Book in LGBTQ Studies

This award honors the works and contributions to the PCA and to LGBTQ studies by John Leo and Dana Heller. It is given annually to recognize and promote scholarship that makes a significant contribution to studies in the understanding and representation of sexual minorities and popular culture.

Committee chair:   Joseph Donica




This award honors the work of pioneering cultural theorists Harry Shaw and Katrina Hazzard-Donald. It is given annually to recognize research, scholarship, and discourse that makes a significant contribution to the field of African-American Popular Culture.

Committee Chair: Carol Bunch Davis



Peter C. Rollins and susan w. rollins Award for the Best Documentary Film

Peter and Susan Rollins worked for many years in the nexus between Popular Culture, film, and history. Documentaries in Popular and American Culture produced within the past three years may be submitted.

Committee Chair:   Cynthia Miller


Electronic RESEARCH Site Award

This award recognizes the outstanding contribution of an academic database to the study of Popular Culture and American Culture. Submissions produced within the last three years will be considered.
Committee Chair:    Allen Ellis